My Favourite Reads of 2017, So Far…

Recently, Olive from the YouTube channel ABookOlive shared her criteria for picking her favourite books and eventually shared her favourite book of all time (for now). This got me thinking about how I rate my books

eugenio-mazzone-unsplash_Pierce

Recently, Olive from the YouTube channel ABookOlive shared her criteria for picking her favourite books and eventually shared her favourite book of all time (for now). This got me thinking about how I rate my books, what makes them my favourite and recommendation-worthy ( *cough* shove down other people’s throats *cough* ).

Well, after consulting my Goodreads bookshelf,  I discovered that I am definitely a mood reader and even though I may get my hands on the titles that are making rounds on booktube or bookstagram, I will pick them up when I feel it is the “right time” for me to read them.  In most cases, the book themes turn out to be quite serendipitous. It also helps when the authors are able to reel me in and transport me to a particular time period and I am able to connect with the characters.  For non-fiction, the author should be able to not just present the facts in a logical manner but carefully weave in anecdotes that help me understand their train of thought. Finally, the story’s staying power also matters. I should be able to remember the story weeks after I have read the books and that makes them recommendation-worthy because they are top of mind.

So without much further ado, here are my favourite books of 2017 as of June 2017:

Give and Take: Why Helping Others Drives Our Success by Adam Grant

If you have been keeping up with Business/Psychology non-fiction genre or a TED talk junkie, then Adam Grant is certainly not a stranger. In Give and Take, Wharton’s youngest tenured professor examines the psychology of generosity which led him to group people into four categories: givers, takers, matchers and fakers. I am glad that I read a book that addresses generosity burn-out, especially in careers that centre on the “personal touch” such as nursing, caregiving, teaching and volunteering which are commonly regarded as callings and also commonly underappreciated.Moreover, it is something that I have personally struggled with.   Though they are in different fields, if you are familiar with the works of Cal Newport and Ryan Holiday,  I believe that you are likely to enjoy Adam Grant’s work.

The Gilded Years by Karin Tanabe

If there are words that sum up this book, they have to be, a pleasant surprise. I bought The Gilded Years at an Inama Bookshop (if you are Nairobi you probably know the one behind National Archives, outside Tuskys) at a 100 bob, (less than £1 at current exchange rate) without any prior knowledge of the author and trusted the back of the book blurb. I was intrigued with a storyline involving a young African-American woman who was able to pass a Caucasian in order to attend Vassar College at the turn of the 20th Century. You can read my full review here.  I had never heard about mixed-race Americans who are referred to as “High Yellows” and was educated about this part of American Industrial Revolution that I had never heard about.

I have also reviewed this book here but let me fill you in. This memoir documents Andrea’s study abroad year in Oxford where she gets to reexamine her faith and values away from her Christian comfort zone. I have to let you know that it is worthwhile to read if you are going through moments of doubting your faith, or perhaps you are living alone abroad and you need someone to hold your hand.

Until We Reach Home by Lynn Austin

I was keen to find out what else Lynn Austin had to offer after I had read  Fire by Night, a few years ago. This stand alone novel takes the reader through the lives of three orphaned sisters migrating to the United States to escape the hardships in Sweden. This is a beautiful coming of age story of three girls navigating their lives while clinging to their faith in a foreign land. Lynn Austin is a gifted storyteller and I could not put this book down for too long. Apart from the overarching faith-based themes, I learnt about migration into the America at the turn of the 20th Century.

Note: This is not a sponsored post but I purchased my copy at Keswick Bookshop Nairobi, CBD  on sale at KES 300.  I believe there were still a few copies left.

 

What are your favourite books of 2017 so far?

Photo Credit: Eugenio Mazzone via Unsplash

This entry was posted in Books, Fiction, Non-Fiction, Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Favourite Reads of 2017, So Far…

  1. Diana says:

    All these titles are new to me but I will definitely check out the one that you got at Keswick. I haven’t been to an inama in ages. I need to visit one soon 🙂

    Like

    • Kerry says:

      Hi Diana! You have definitely inspired me to up my book-reviewing game. I just completed a 31-Day-Book-Buying-Ban Challenge yesterday. (cue happy dance). I know. I can’t believe it too. Definitely missed treasure hunting at my fave “Inamas”. I am thinking of round II just to cut down on my TBR (including Netgalley ARCs, I still need to reach my 80% mark). Definitely showed me that I have a lot more self-control than I give myself credit for. I also realised that the one book that I really HAVE TO purchase is some C.S. Lewis titles that are no longer stocked at Keswick but (was suddenly) available at Prestige Bookshops during my buying ban month (though over KES 1,400 each).I came to discover that Booktube is such a huge enabler for me. Though I still watch book hauls and library hauls, I am more selective nowadays and do not watch them as much.
      Is it possible to lobby some of these booksellers to have a more active online presence so that it can be easier to compare the prices and check for availability of stock (*cough* Booksfirt and Prestige *cough*)?

      Like

Leave a Reply

