Book Review: Better than Before

I have been reading self-help/personal development books ever since I was in high school and they formed the bulk of my non-fiction reading. Over the last 48 months, I think I have been reading the same messages in books, blog posts (please no more listicles!!!

28113331

Title:Better Than Before: What I Learned About Making and Breaking Habits to Sleep More, Quit Sugar, Procrastinate Less, and Generally Build a Happier Life

Year: 2015

Pages: 336

Genre:Non-Fiction, Personal Development

I have been reading self-help/personal development books ever since I was in high school and they have formed the bulk of my non-fiction reading over the years. Over the last 48 months, I have felt like similar messages in books, blog posts (please no more listicles!!!), social media posts  have been popping up over and over again. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good quote just as much as  the next person but sometimes, these things get a bit old when especially  there’s no backstory…but I digress.

Back to this book review. Gretchen Rubin is pretty hard to miss on social media especially when her previous book, The Happiness Project has been a New York Times Bestseller. Her eclectic reading tastes caught my attention via Instagram and  made me click the follow button. So after listening to her interview on The Lively Show and taking her LinkedIn Learning course on how to master habits based on personalities, she definitely piqued my interests.

Well, Better than Before further explains how the four tendencies upholder, obliger, rebel and questioner help shape  each person’s  habits based on inner and outer expectations. She provides a simple quiz in the book ( and online) to assess which tendency everyone falls into and explains how each one can still live according to their values while overcoming associated pitfalls.

To be quite honest, I felt that she was reiterating a lot of the concepts that I had come to learn over the years as a recovering personal development junkie. However, I did appreciate her voice and how she phrased them, in a very Gretchen-way. She does an excellent job of incorporating both classical and contemporary references which is one of the reasons why I like her. To be quite  honest, I feel that every time I encounter her work, I learn a new word, perspective or book recommendations. Believe me, I  got a  number of quotable quotes that I will be carrying with me into  2017.  Given, that its that time of the year when everyone is setting new year’s resolutions and mapping out their 2017, this book would be a good primer for someone curious about learning and un-learning habits and other areas of neuroplasticity.

 

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

