What I Have Been Reading

Happy Friday Friends!

Despite all the troubles that this world is facing at the moment (read:  war, Ebola, terrorism, Lamu land wrangles… you get the picture), I am  grateful to be alive and  the chance to  make a difference.    I am also hoping  to share with you some exciting  life-changing news in the next  few weeks, so stay  tuned.

My GoodReads challenge has me on my toes.  I know that I am  10+ books behind  my 50 books in 2014 target but  reading  is not something to be rushed.  I decided to give myself permission not to finish the  books that I  do not  enjoy even if they are on the New York Times Bestsellers’ List.  Audiobooks, for me  do not really count as reading. I guess that’s why I am yet to make full use of my Kindle app.  There is always something about browsing  through a bookstore looking for your favourite  titles and authors   while   making  a mental note:  been there, done that,  (almost) watched the movie.    And the smell of books…  Nothing like it.

For Nairobians,  Westlands Sundries at the Village Market is a book-lover’s’ haven. When I dropped in last week, I felt  like a  kid in a candy store. The decor is out of this world  and  has a great selection of books.  I picked up  this book and  the title did raise a couple of eyebrows as I read  most of it while commuting.  Going past the title,  the books revolves around the experiences of Heidi, Ken and Andrew in conflict  zones of  Cambodia, Haiti, Rwanda, Somalia  and  Bosnia during 1990s  to early 2000s. If you have ever thought of  humanitarian work or being employed by the UN,  this book is  should be on your reading list.

This  year, I am determined to read a couple of classics and  my binge began with The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.  I  liked the movie  (Leo does a good  job playing Jay Gatsby) and the book, though I found  the story line rather morbid.   I think that I will have to give the book another read  because it is heavy  with  symbolism.  My biggest takeaway from the  book  is  to invest in  people  who truly deserve you.  Needless to say, I could relate to Nick Carraway and he won my  heart  for being one of the loyal(-est) friend  ever.  (I feel a potential blog post here…hmmm).

Everyone knows Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre  but not many know  her first  novel , The Professor.  The book is written from the perspective William Crimsworth who sets to Belgium  to find his fortune  after being ill-treated by his  brother and disowned by his extended family.  He eventually become a professor (read: teacher)  at two elite schools. The drama begins when he falls  in love with  one of his poor  pupils and  the directress (this word does exist in old English) of the all-girls school.Though I loved Jane Eyre, I found The Professor a difficult read.  Bronte uses French in some of the conversations without translating hence I did not enough the  dialogues as much.   If you enjoy classics,  this book is worth a try.

I am still looking for The Picture of Dorian Grey by Oscar Wilde so that I can check it off  my  reading bucket-list. So please let a sister know by leaving a  note in the comments section down below.  I would also love to read your thoughts on  the books that I have mentioned.

Enough about me and my books.   Let’s ease into the weekend with this round of links:

  • The absolute best way to figure out your personal brand (The Muse). To go straight to the PWC workbook, click here
  • Precastinating vs Procrastinating (Fast Company)
  • Networking for introverts (Cupcakes and Cashmere)
  • How to work with people who are smarter than you (The Muse)
  • Finding your faith post-college (Levo League)
  • How to stay awake without caffeine (Freckled Fox)
  • What stops women from pursuing meaningful careers (Levo League)
  • Brighten up someone’s day, send a package ( Free People)
  • Find the thing you’re most passionate about, then do it on nights and weekends for the rest of your life (The Onion)
  • 5 ways Japanese culture made me a better person (The Nectar Collective)
  • How to be a grown ass woman series (Yes and Yes)
  • Love this!  6 things a Nairobi Matatu tout can teach you about business (iHub)

Yours truly,

Kerry

About Lillian

I am a proud student of the human experience which provides me with the perfect excuse for being a bibliophile (read: book hoarder) and the unofficial patron of Nairobi Inama bookshops. But in my past life, I was a recorder player. You can also find me on Medium (@lillianyamongo) where I discuss sustainable finance.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

