How to Manage the Boys’ Club

One of my fondest memories from my college days is getting grouped with five guys for an entrepreneurship course. How that happened? Well,  our alphabeticized class-list did all the work.  We came up with a great idea of paying for  bus-fare via M-Pesa and  really  put in a lot of blood, toil, sweat and tears. We were so serious with the idea that we had considered  registering it as a patent and selling it to Safaricom…

We did not  see the idea to fruition (but we  got  really good grades!). That experience  taught me a lot about the different dynamics involved in working with  women and men. Apart from  speaking up more. I had to learn the difference between a treble in music and  European soccer. Reading  Anna’s book The Professional Woman’s Guide  to Managing Men reminded me of the brainstorming sessions in the college cafeteria  and provided me with   great advice on  navigation  the politics of gender in the office

Since getting her own career unstuck,  Anna has made it her life mission to help professional women become happier, calmer and more successful leaders who love their careers (For more details, see here). I have  been devouring her blog, Classy Career  Girl  and  found practical advice that I apply to my career.  I am glad that my digital mentor has finally taken some of her own  advice and is tooting her horn. In this  book,  Ms. Runyan  shares more lessons garnered from working for  seven years in a male-dominated field as a consultant with Booz Allen Hamiliton

PWG To Managing Men

One of my favourite  quotes in the book is:

Assertiveness is an easy way to quickly gain respect from the men on your team and it can help men become more confident in you. Men respect a woman who speaks her mind and challenges others. Men want to hear your voice because you have different strengths than them and you bring a different viewpoint to the team. Men also expect interruptions because that is what they are used to when they are around other men. Therefore, your assertiveness won’t be seen as overbearing (or bitchy!).

I know that  as women, we fear  speaking up  and think that as long as we work hard,  others will  notice  our hard work and promote us.  For a long time, I believed that too.  it  came to my attention, that my peers (especially male) seemed to be getting more wiggle room  (e.g. taking extra leave days after holidays) or take up interesting and career-building tasks.  In 2014, women have to speak  up and to be grabby (within reason) if we want to achieve our dreams.   Let me allow Anna to explain this further:

Managing Men is a quick and easy read  with plenty of exercises  for reflection.  Your pencil  will come in  really handy if you like paperback.  This is a manual that will be useful for   women at all levels in an organisation  and would  like to know how to use their femininity to their advantage.

For  more information on how to purchase the book, here and check here for more goodies!

Happy Reading!

Yours truly,

Kerry

Related Links:

Women need to realize that  work isn’t school

The Shriver Report

Search Funds: The Boys’ Club You Have Never Even Heard Of

The Career Change Manual

Antidote for Quarter-Life Crisis

Blogger’s note: I  have  included links to Amazon  since  I believe in this  book’s message and I will not  receive any monetary  benefits  from the sales

This entry was posted in Books, Career and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

