Hidden Treasure…

As I mentioned in one of my earlier posts that I buy books from anywhere. The streets of Nairobi are normally filled with people who have all sorts of books and wares strewn on the sidewalks for viewing and buying pleasure.

A couple of weeks back, I randomly bought An Interrupted Life: The Diaries of Etty Hillesum 1941-1943  because I love reading about the Holocaust and trying learn how people where able to survive (or not) the atrocities that took place.

image

The back cover reads:

“I want to be sent to every our of the camps

I want too be there at every front, I don’t ever want to be what they call ‘safe’”

Those haunting words were written by Etty Hillesum, a young Jewish woman who dies at Auschwitz in November 1943 at the age of twenty nine. Composed, during the last years of her life, but only recently discovered, her diaries reveal the gradual transformation of an independent woman preoccupied with worldly pleasures into a vibrant, brave one of new spiritual depth. Forty years later, out of the tragedy of the Holocaust, Etty Hillesum’s radiant voice returns to illuminate our lives.

 As I flipped through the pages, this fell out:

image

image

I can’t wait to read this book as well as Primo Levi’s Survival in Auschwitz.

Look out for the book reviews….More soon….

Kerry

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

