When Music is Your Only Friend

unsplash photo-jenelle ball

I know so far that I have talked about books, links and more links.  Well, let me share with you something else that is moves me: Music. I can’t help it. I am going to blame it all on my childhood mentor.  By being open to different musicians, I believe that I have been able to pick various lessons along the way… Let me sample my current playlist (in no particular order) shows my favourite pick me up songs. Everybody needs one.  On those days, when I feel that it’s just me against the world, I simply slip on my ear pieces and block everyone out until I am ready to face them again.

Group 1 Crew ft Chris August: He Said  can be summarized in Philippians 4:13, I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

One word that can be used to describe Casting Crowns is real. Their music, through and through talks about practical Christianity in songs like Stained Glass Masquerade, Jesus Friend of Sinners and Praise You in the Storm. Their lyrics are powerful and are easy to resonate with.

I was introduced to Jeremy Camp through the song I Still Believe that he wrote shortly after he lost his first wife, a few months after they tied the knot. It talks about holding on to your faith when you can’t make sense of your current situation. The song Overcome has a similar theme but it focuses more on “We are more than conquerors” theme. Let It Fade is also worth a listen to.

Blessings by Laura Story tries to make sense of the hard times that we go through.

Kari Jobe: We are talks about being the light of the world.  Steady My Heart is my comfort song knowing full well that God, my Father will be there for me regardless of what I have done and/or if my world is falling apart.

Healing Begins by Tenth Avenue North inspired one of my previous posts but love is here is also a cool song that reminded me of Christ’s sacrifice and how I should shift my focus towards Him for redemption. Did I mention that lead singer, Mike Donehey and his crew are gifted songwriters? Just yesterday, discovered another song, Worn off their latest studio album, The Struggle #MustHave.

Jimmy Needham’s The Reason I Sing made question why I act the way I do. Do I   do things for recognition, fame money or simple because I want to make a difference? At the end of the day what matters is what kind of person I become and what legacy I will leave behind.  Forgiven and Loved can be summarized in one verse Romans 8:1. You should definitely check out If I Ever Needed Grace

Sarah Brightman is well known for her timeless duet with Andrea Bocelli for Con Te Partiro (Time to Say Goodbye).  The Il Divo version is equally good in its own right though Saran & Andrea’s version is considered a classic. They also beautifully harmonise Canto Della Terra but my personal preference is her duet with Alessandro Safina.

Il Divo: I can’t choose!!! Time To Say Goodbye, Time Of Our Lives, Llorando.  I love Por Ti Sere which is the Spanish rendition of You  Raise Me Up   especially when Carlos leads the chorus towards the end. You have got to love how their voices just blend.

Sandra Echerevera ft Marc Anthony: La Fuerza del Destino is a song that I am yet to fully understand because Espanol is my fourth language. I love this song because of the harmony, the way they transpose to the climax… your can actually feel the intensity of their fire, power…

I never knew that Bluegrass could be beautiful until I listened to Bill Gaither and his friends. The Gaither Vocal Band that comprises of Bill Gaither, Guy Penrod, Wes Hampton and Marshall Hall is definitely my best: Love Can Turn the World that is sung with an African Children’s choir is absolutely beautiful. The chorus goes:   Give It Away is an awesome song that talks about finding real joy and deep satisfaction through serving others. Glorious Impossible is awesome.

Francesca Batistelli’s This Is The Stuff cracked me up the first time I listened to it.  I think all keys and phones should some form of detectors or something like that especially on Monday mornings 9after long weekends)

Jamie Grace’s Hold Me ft Toby Mac always gets me into jig or bopping my head. No wonder Microsoft used it as a jingle for one of its ad campaign

Special mention: Sanctus Real’s  Lead me  beautiful talks  about one of my previous post

I would like to end with these words from Aaron Copland

 “To stop the flow of music would be like the stopping of time itself, incredible and inconceivable.” 

 

What’s your favourite pick-me-up, feel-good song?  I would love to hear from you.

About Lillian

I am a proud student of the human experience which provides me with the perfect excuse for being a bibliophile (read: book hoarder) and the unofficial patron of Nairobi Inama bookshops. But in my past life, I was a recorder player. You can also find me on Medium (@lillianyamongo) where I discuss sustainable finance.
This entry was posted in Personal, Reflections and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When Music is Your Only Friend

  1. Miriam says:

    Music alone shall live.The melody that lives on.
    Hello my kindred spirit
    My favourites: Walk by Faith~Jeremy Camp.Theme song for this world we live in.When completely Undone(undone is a song title also) Cry Out to Jesus by Third day.
    Casting Crowns remains my fav band:And now my lifesong sings still leads me to a time of worship.
    Throne room(album) by Cece has never got old-fashioned.
    Natalie Grant Awaken album with the title track a call to do more in my walk with Christ
    Worn,Find by Kari Jobe,Your Love never fails by Newsboys & many more

    Like

Leave a Reply

