Mini-photo Essay: Snippets of my Home Village

As we begin the year, I would like to share some pictures that I took from my home village to give you a feel of where I come from-Nyamira County. That’s because we all know that Nairobi is not your home…

image
Near the marketplace: Plenty of green to go around

 

 

 

image
The marketplace

 

Seeing through their eyesimage

 

image
The beautiful sight of one of our neighbours

 

image
Using the three stones to boil water for ugali

 

image
Sunday morning nap for Cobra the adorable dog

 

image
Pumpkin leaves: The before shot

 

image
Pumpkin leaves sauteed with onions and tomatoes with a bit of fresh cream: The before serving shot… Yum!!!

 

image
Another Kisii delicacy: Managu

 

About Lillian

I am a proud student of the human experience which provides me with the perfect excuse for being a bibliophile (read: book hoarder) and the unofficial patron of Nairobi Inama bookshops. But in my past life, I was a recorder player. You can also find me on Medium (@lillianyamongo) where I discuss sustainable finance.
This entry was posted in Personal, Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mini-photo Essay: Snippets of my Home Village

  1. La_Ndito says:

    wewe, managu is a kikuyu name….what is the Kisii equivalent?

    Like

  2. appletamu says:

    What of chinsaga? : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

